Ancient hut
Our Cattle & Forestry
Preserving & Continuing Tradition.
Nature. Animals. Country life. Freedom. Mountain air.

The Burgstaller Alm.

Burgstaller Alm

In Döbriach at Lake Millstatt, spring slowly transitions into early summer at the end of April.  The barn swallows return back home from their long journey from the south. The last April showers fall - and nature blossoms in the fine Mediterranean climate of Carinthia, unfolds and shows its boldest and most beautiful colours. During this time, the cows in our open-air barn at the Familiengut Burgstaller start to get restless. They instinctively feel, that the time has come for their hike to the alpine pasture.

It is a centuries-old tradition that we continue here at the Familiengut Burgstaller. In the valley, the brass band starts to play, for the dance into the first of May. Then the whole family helps to drive the cows and cattle to our alpine pasture ceremoniously. This beautiful location is the summer residence of our field animals, their home for the next days, weeks and months. Here up above, they can breathe in the good, strong mountain air, roam freely, comb every inch of the nutritious alpine herbs and enjoy the peace and quiet that can only be found on the mountain.

Man feeds cowsHerd of cows
To the “Wolfelt”

Tradition since 1810

From May to September, the Murbodner cattle from our own rearing at the Familiengut Burgstaller on the Lake Millstatt are high up on our alpine pasture - also known as the “Wolfelt”. The alpine pasture has been in our family since 1810 and is still intensively used for cattle breeding and forestry. The tradition, to drive the cattle up to the mountain and later back again with celebrations, is deeply rooted in the region and firmly belongs in the rhythm of our life in the country, with nature.  Far up above, the animals taste a real piece of freedom. Even though, they have plenty of exercise here in the open-air barn, it is something totally different for them to be on the mountain. Happy and free among the tasty grass.

SheepAlpaca herd
The Farmyard Summer

Animal summertime.

While our Murbodner cattle enjoy the clear mountain air on the alpine pasture, our other animals also look forward to the warm season, plenty of fresh air, running around and countless lovely encounters with our guests. Old and young animal lovers can meet soft alpacas, sweet mini ponies, playful guinea pigs and tame rabbits. The goats get excited about the freshly picked dandelions and an occasional cuddle. Our horses are full of energy in their spacious stable and can hardly wait to gallop through the nature surrounding the Lake Millstatt. A summer full of animals - a summer full of adventure, fun and nature.

Convince yourself of the hustle and bustle on our farm and inquire now about a stay at the Familiengut Burgstaller.

Altertümliche Hütte
Unsere Rinder- & Forstwirtschaft
Tradition erhalten & fortführen.
Natur. Tiere. Landleben. Freiheit. Bergluft.

Die Burgstaller Alm.

Burgstaller-Alm

In Döbriach am Millstätter See geht der Frühling Ende April langsam in den Frühsommer über. Die Rauchschwalben kehren von ihrer langen Reise aus dem Süden nach Hause zurück. Der letzte Aprilregen fällt – und die Natur blüht im feinen, mediterranen Klima Kärntens auf, entfaltet sich, zeigt ihre kräftigsten und schönsten Farben. In dieser Zeit werden auch die Kühe in unserem Freiluftstall am Familiengut Burgstaller unruhig. Instinktiv spüren sie, dass die Zeit ihrer Wanderung auf die Alm gekommen ist.

Es ist eine jahrhundertealte Tradition, die wir hier am Familiengut Burgstaller fortführen. Im Tal beginnt die Blasmusik zu spielen, zum Tanz in den ersten Mai. Dann hilft die gesamte Familie mit, die Kühe und Rinder feierlich auf unsere Alm zu treiben. Dieser schöne Ort ist das Sommerdomizil unserer Freilandtiere, ihr Zuhause für die nächsten Tage, Wochen und Monate. Hier oben können sie tief die gute, kräftige Bergluft atmen, frei herumlaufen, die nahrhaften Almkräuter abgrasen und die sanfte Ruhe genießen, wie sie nur am Berg zu finden ist.

Mann füttert Kühe Kuhherde
Aufs „Wolfet“

Tradition seit 1810.

Von Mai bis September sind die Murbodner Rinder aus unserer eigenen Zucht im Familiengut Burgstaller am Millstätter See hoch heroben auf unserer Alm - auch das „Wolfelt“ genannt. Seit 1810 ist die Alm in unserem Familienbesitz und wird für die Rinderzucht und Forstwirtschaft immer noch intensiv genutzt. Der Brauch, mit Feierlichkeiten die Rinder auf den Berg zu treiben und später wieder talab, ist tief in der Region verwurzelt und gehört fest in den Rhythmus unseres Lebens am Land, mit der Natur, dazu. Weit oben kosten die Tiere ein Stück richtiger Freiheit. Auch wenn sie bei uns im Freiluftstall viel Auslauf haben, ist es für sie doch noch einmal etwas anderes, am Berg zu sein. Glücklich und frei zwischen den würzigen Gräsern.

SchafeAlpakaherde
Der Hofsommer

Tierische Sommerzeit.

Während unsere Murbodner Rinder im Sommer die klare Bergluft auf der Alm genießen, freuen sich unsere anderen Tiere genauso über die warme Jahreszeit, viel Frischluft, Auslauf sowie zahlreiche schöne Begegnungen mit unseren Gästen. Großen und kleinen Tierfreunden begegnen weiche Alpakas, süße Miniponys, verspielte Meerschweinchen und zahme Kaninchen. Die Ziegen freuen sich über frisch gepflückten Löwenzahn und die eine oder andere Streicheleinheit. Unsere Pferde stehen voller Energie in ihrem großzügigen Stall und können es kaum erwarten, durch die Natur rund um den Millstätter See zu galoppieren. Ein Sommer voller Tiere – ein Sommer voller Erlebnis, Spaß und Natur.

Überzeugen Sie sich selbst von dem quirrligen Treiben auf unserem Gut und fragen Sie gleich an für einen Aufenthalt am Familiengut Burgstaller.